5 New Microsoft Azure Certifications: Which One Will Look Good on Your Resume?

Over the past few years, the world has experienced numerous advancements in technology and innovations. So, Microsoft decided to make nerve-wracking critical transformations in its Azure certification path. This is necessary for the company to monitor the ongoing changes in the IT field. Based on its resources, Microsoft took this significant step to make its certificates role-based. The organization had to eliminate a couple of old exams that were replaced with new ones. The truth is that the introduction of new role-based credentials has made a difference in the IT industry. Let’s find out more about the top 5 new Microsoft Azure certifications you can pursue in 2020.

What do you need to know about Microsoft Azure certification path?

The newly launched Azure certification path outlines the levels from Fundamentals and Associate to Expert. Microsoft decided to design the Azure credentials with five different roles. They are as follows:

– Fundamentals;

– Developer Associate;

– DevOps Engineer Expert;

– Administrator Associate;

– Solutions Architect Expert.

If you need to know more about the new Azure certification track, then this blog article is for you. So, let’s talk about the latest certificates in this newest path.

  1. Azure Fundamentals

This is an entry-level credential that the professionals can earn according to the updated Microsoft Azure certification path. This certificate is perfect for those individuals who want to verify their basic skills and knowledge in Azure services. Since it’s a basic-level certification, even students with no technical skills can get it as long as they’re familiar with the fundamentals of Cloud concepts.

AZ-900: Microsoft Azure Fundamentals

This exam acts as a stepping stone to other higher levels of the certification path. While it’s not a compulsory level, that doesn’t imply that you skip the basic details of Azure services. There are no formal prerequisites for the test. So, any individual who wants to get the skills in the fundamental concepts of Microsoft Azure is free to take it.

Domains covered:

– Understanding Cloud concepts;

– Understanding core Azure services;

– Understanding privacy, trust, compliance, and security;

– Understanding Azure pricing and support.

  1. Azure Administrator Associate

As per the latest changes that Microsoft has made, the candidates must pass one AZ-103 exam to work as an Azure administrator. Those professionals who get this credential are also awarded the Azure administrator associate badge.

AZ-103: Microsoft Azure Administrator

This exam combines the domains and skills covered in the AZ-100 and AZ-101 tests. However, more of these skills come from Microsoft AZ-100. Note that the AZ-103 certification exam serves as a requirement for the Microsoft Certified: Azure DevOps Engineer Expert certificate. Those specialists who want to take this test should have basic knowledge of operating system, Azure applications, and storage infrastructure, as well as basic understanding of networking visualization tools and networking components.

Domains covered:

– Implementing and managing storage;

– Deploying and managing virtual tools;

– Managing Azure resources and subscriptions;

– Configuring and managing a virtual network;

– Managing identities.

  1. Azure Developer Associate

Those individuals who want to work as Azure developers are free to sit for the Microsoft AZ-203 exam. They will earn the certification known as Microsoft Certified: Azure Developer Associate. Once you’re qualified, you get an Azure Developer Associate badge.

AZ-203: Developing Solutions for Microsoft Azure

The professionals who plan to pass this certification exam on the first try should fulfill the relevant requirements. They should have the specific skills and knowledge to design reliable applications through the implementation of Azure techniques, as well as have not less than one year of experience in developing and designing reliable solutions. The applicants should be skilled in one Cloud-supported programming language.

Domains covered:

– Development of various Azure infrastructure such as service computer solutions;

– Development of Azure storage;

– Development of Azure platform;

– Implementation of Azure security;

– Optimization, monitoring, and troubleshooting of Azure solutions;

– Connection & consumption of Azure and third-party services.

  1. Azure Solutions Architect Expert

As per the recently introduced certification program, those individuals who want to be an Azure solutions architect expert must pass two associated tests. These exams include Microsoft AZ-300 and Microsoft AZ-301. After obtaining the credential, the candidates get a badge to become a certified specialist.

AZ-300: Microsoft Azure Architect Technologies

If you want to be a certified Azure solutions architect expert, you need to have fundamental understanding of security operations and data management, one year of experience, and basic comprehension of DevOps, Azure administration, and Azure development.

Domains covered:

– Deploying and configuring Azure infrastructure;

– Implementing security solutions;

– Architect and Cloud solutions;

– Developing and deploying apps;

– Implementing authentication and securing of data;

– Developing for Cloud.

AZ-301: Microsoft Azure Architect Design

This certification exam is the second test you need to pass to get the Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert credential. The requirements for Microsoft AZ-301 are similar to those that Microsoft AZ-300 has. However, one must pass the AZ-300 exam before taking Microsoft Azure Architect Design.

Domains covered:

– Determining workload requirements;

– Design for identity and security;

– Designing a business continuity strategy;

– Design for mitigation, integration, and deployment;

– Designing an infrastructure strategy.

  1. Azure DevOps Engineer Expert

Those specialists who have the Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator or Azure Developer certification can obtain Microsoft Certified: Azure DevOps Engineer Expert. This is possible after passing the Microsoft AZ-400 exam.

AZ-400: Microsoft Azure DevOps Solutions

This exam is part of the latest certification path changes. Those individuals working as Azure administrators or Azure developers can enroll to attain the expert-level credential and ensure they meet the requirements that are as follows: understanding of Azure administration and Azure development, or some skills in any of these fields; expertise to deploy and design DevOps practices to code, configure management, vision control, compliance, build, and test using Azure technologies; competence in Agile practices.

Domains covered:

Here you will face with the need for the knowledge of designing and implementing the following:

– DevOps strategies;

– DevOps development process;

– Continuous integration;

– Dependency management;

– Continuous delivery;

– Application infrastructure;

– Continuous feedback.


As you’ve noticed, the recent Microsoft Azure certification path has aligned the credentials according to targeted job roles. This makes it the right time to pursue a Microsoft Azure certificate. With all the current demand for the professionals with such qualifications, you’ll be positioning yourself for great opportunities. Ensure you get it right with at least one of these top 5 Microsoft Azure certifications.