Top Security Certifications

Organizations of the modern era are facing a number of security hazards than ever before. Systematic hacks of organization resources and data breaches are becoming most apparent, and there are zero signs of this trend falling down. Generalized practices to system security within an organization no longer provide adequate protection against progressively sophisticated hazards, and certified security pros to overcome these security hazards are in scarce supply. For this ultimate reason organizations are willing to pay handsome dollar for certified IT security specialists.

Top Security Certifications

Mentioned below top 5 security certifications we believe to be influential in the area of information security nowadays:

  • Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

CISSP is an expert level certification course for IT professionals concerned about bright careers in information security provided by International Security System Certification Association, called as (ISC) 2.

Which exams to pass?

(ISC) 2 offers 3 key CISSP targeted specific fields of concern in information security:

  • CISSP-ISSAP (Architecture)
  • CISSP-ISSEP (Engineering)
  • CISSP-ISSMP (Management)

Required Experience

Minimum 5 years of full-time, paid practical experience in two of eight (ISC) 2 fields or 4 years of full-time, paid experience in two of eight (ISC) 2 fields and an approved credential or college degree.

Required Skills

CISSP certified professionals are actually decision-makers who possess technical abilities and expert knowledge essential to guide, develop and afterward manage standards of security, procedures and policies within their companies.

Is it possible to get CISSP certification if you are a beginner?

An employer finding for a CISSP certified for an entry-level job post does not know exactly what they are doing. Demanding an expert-level certification for a junior level job designation possibly indicates the compensation won’t perfectly match up with job’s responsibilities.

  • Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The CISM certification course is a top level credential for information technology pros accountable for developing, supervising and overseeing security systems within business level applications, or for developing top level organizational practices with respect to information security.

Which exams to pass?

CISM certification course covers up 4 core Information Security Management Fields identified as domain levels.

  • Information Security Governance (Domain Level 1)
  • Information Risk Management (Domain Level 2)
  • Information Security Program Development and Management (Domain Level 3)
  • Information Security Incident Management (Domain Level 4)

Required Experience

Holders of CISM certification course which is developed for qualified security professionals must have 5 years of security knowledge as a minimum, adhere to ongoing Education Plan and submit an application in written form. A few combinations of experience and education might be substituted for expert-level prerequisites.

Skills Needed

CISSP certified professionals should learn how to design and manage an information security database that identify, protects and manages the company’s IT assets whilst staying in line with information security business objectives and strategies, which supports information security prerequisites of the company for which you are employed for.

Is it possible to get CISM certification if you are a beginner?

Novices can take a start preparing for skyward growth by means of earning CISM certification. CISM is more of a managerial level certification which addresses cyber security risk mockups and structural maturity mockups.

  • CompTIA Security +

CompTIA Security+ is a vendor-neutral, well-respected information security certification. Security+ certificate holders are known as holding higher-level technical proficiencies, broad acquaintance and experience in several disciplines related to information security.

Which exams to pass?

CompTIA Security+ certification entails a single exam SY0-501, recently cost around $320. Discounts are applicable for full-time students and for CompTIA member companies. Training is available yet it is not compulsory.

Experience Required

CompTIA requires minimum 2 years of practical experience in information technology administration with a core focus on security and Network+ credential prior taking Security+ certification course.

Skills Needed

CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 exam validates skills essential to perform key security functions and change into cyber security arena. CompTIA Security+ course primarily put emphasis on hands-on, real-world abilities needed in different job designations like junior IT penetration tester, network administrator, systems administrator and security officer.

CompTIA Security+ For Beginners

Employers required this certification for entry-level job roles. This course will deliver you the basics. Regardless of criticism for its exam form, by actually taking this exam course and concentrating on areas where you lack understanding, you will get a good start regarding information security.

  • CEH Certified Ethical Hacker

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification course is a middle-level certification offered by EC-Council (International Council of E-Commerce Consultants). This certification is mandatory for IT specialists chasing their career paths in ethical hacking.

Which exams to pass?

In order to get CEH exam course, students must pass out a single 312-50 exam comprises off 125 multiple choice questions. Time duration for this exam is 4 hours.

Required Experience

In order to pass CEH certification exam, candidates should have minimum 2 years of security related practical experience and an academic background of information security.

Skills needed

CEH certificate holders possess knowledge and skills on hacking techniques in several areas like reconnaissance, foot printing, enumeration, scanning networks, system hacking, worms, viruses, Trojans, denial-of-service attacks, sniffers, session hijacking, hacking web servers, social engineering, web applications, wireless networks, SQL injection, penetration testing, cryptography, firewalls, evading IDS and honeypots.

Is it possible to get CEH certification if you are a beginner?

Certified Ethical Hacking v9 certification course is a harder merit to take for beginners in comparison with Security+ certification.

  • GSEC SANS GIAC Security Essentials

The GIAC Essentials for security is a beginner level certification course for candidates who want to substantiate that they are 100% ready for a hands-on job post in systems security supervision. If you are already searching ahead to your MSIE or MSIM certification courses, then GSEC is the most superlative place to start.

Which exams to pass?

Candidates are required to pass a single proctored SANS SEC 401 exam with 180 questions to solve. Time limit for this exam is 5 hours with minimum 73% of passing score.

Experience Required

No hands-on experience is needed for any GIAC course. It is just a choice.

Skills Needed

Basic understanding and knowledge of security & networking concepts is essential to get this certification.

It is possible to get GIAC certification if you are a beginner?

GIAC is an entry-level certification. It is developed for pros who want to illustrate their security abilities beyond simple terminology and concepts. This certification course covers all basic fundamentals of security, risk management, cryptography, Linux & Windows security.

In a nutshell, security certification is one of the techniques to validate required knowledge and skill. It is compulsory that you dedicate your efforts, money as well as time. Just about all information security certifications are valid for a restricted time-period.